Group Members

Prof. Dr. Frank Kirchhoff, Institute Director


Prof. Dr. Frank Kirchhoff received his initial training in Biology at the Georg-August-University in Göttingen. Subsequently, he carried out his research for his Diploma thesis at the German Primate Center in Göttingen with Prof. Dr. Hunsmann on the “isolation and characterization of a new HIV-2 clone to examine the negative regulatory factors of chimeras between HIV-2 and the HIV-1 envelope protein.” Thereafter, he received a postdoctoral fellowship from the Federal Ministry for Research and Technology (BMBF) for working with Prof. Dr. Ronald Desrosiers at the NERPRC, Harvard Medical School, Boston. The research topic was “Function of the HIV and SIV nef and env genes.”

From 1994-2001 he was Lab Head of the Department of Virology at the University of Erlangen. In 2001 he joined the Ulm University Medical Center. He started at the Institute of Virology as Associate Professor and founded the Institute of Molecular Virology in 2009. Since then he has been Director of the Institute of Molecular Virology.

Honors: Junior scientist award of the German Primate Center (1990); Fellowship of the AIDS-Research program of the BMBF (1991); Award for AIDS research from the German Society of Infectious Diseases (1995); Thiersch-award of the Medical faculty of the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg (1998), Research Award of the British United Providential Association (BUPA) Foundation (1999, shared with P. Easterbrook and S. Rowland-Jones, London); Award for successful collaboration with industrial partners (2001, University of Ulm); German AIDS Award 2003 from the German Society of AIDS Research); AIDS research award of the Heinz-Ansmann Foundation (2006); AIDS research award of the Hector Foundation (2007); Innovation award of the German University Clinics (2007); Merckle research award (2007);  research award of the GlaxoSmithkline Foundation (2008); Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz award of the DFG (2009); Ernst Schering award (2013).


-          German Society of Virology

-          American Society for Microbiology

-          Scientific advisory board member of ViroPharmaceuticals GmbH (Hannover)

-          Editorial Board:  Journal of Virology, Retrovirology, Advances in Virology, Cell

-          Leopoldina, German Academy of Sciences

-          AIDS advisory board member of the German Ministry of Health

Dr. Dré van der Merwe, Lab Manager

Tel: +49 (0)731 500 65156

Dré studied Biochemistry at the Rand Afrikaans University receiving his Masters degree in Biochemistry (M.Sc.) in 2002. He started his doctoral studies on a DAAD scholarship in the Laboratory of Prof Brennicke in 2003, culminating in a doctorate in Natural sciences (Dr. Rer. Nat) in 2007. Two years of post doctoral work in the same lab followed, before starting in the lab of Prof Kirchhoff as lab manager in Nov 2009.

Dr. Dominik Hotter, Post Doc

Tel: +49 (0)731 500 65166

Dominik started his studies in May. 2013.

Matteo Bosso, PhD student. 

Tel: +49 (0)731 50065170

Matteo joined our lab in October 2016.

Simone Joas, PhD student

Tel: +49 (0)731 500 65155

Simone started her studies in Aug. 2013.



Dorota Kmiec, PhD student

Tel: +49 (0)731 500 65162

Dorota started her studies in Oct. 2014.



Regina Linsenmeyer, Medical technical assitant. 

Tel: +49 (0)731 50065163

Regina joined our lab in Jan 2014.

Martha Mayer, Medical technical assistant

Tel: +49 (0)731 500 65166

Martha started working in the lab in Nov. 2006.

Kerstin Regensburger, Medical technical assistant

Tel: +49 (0)731 500 65162

Kerstin started working in our lab in Nov. 2006.



Nicola Schrott, Medical technical assistant

Tel: +49 (0)731 500 65163

Nicola started working in our lab in Sept. 2003.


Ms. Ingrid Wirth (am)

Tel +49731 50065151

Fax +49731 50065153

Ms. Kristina Wohllaib (pm)

Tel +49731 50065152

Fax +49731 50065153


Institute of Molecular Virology

Ulm University Hospital

Meyerhofstr. 1

89081, Ulm




gepunktete hellblaue Linie 176px breit
gepunktete blaue Linie 1000px breit